top of page

Meelogo

I am Meelika from Estonia. I am studying marketing management in Denmark, Kolding and currently doing my internship in Copenhagen.  

I love travelling and this blog is dedicated to my travel experiences. Thank you for coming here.

Search
  • Writer's pictureMeelogo

Kerkini National Park, Greece

Updated: Jul 21, 2019

On the first weekend when we rented a car, we drove to Kerkini lake. We drove around the lake and made some stops to enjoy the view. Once we stopped on the road to think which road to take. We had no plan and there were no signs. One woman stopped her car and asked where we want to go. We tried telling her we are not sure because we do not know where we want to go. Then we decided to go the village and she told to follow her. We drove after her to one village which was 5 minutes drive away. We said farewells and went on our path. We stopped at the lake again and went to eat. That restaurant offered buffalo meat because in that national park there are many buffalos.

Kerkini Lake


Toilet you can see in many places

Buffalo meat with potatoes

After eating we drove to find one buffalo farm so we could see them closer up. Marcel called them and tried to arrange a meeting, but did not work out with the times. We found one farm where they offered horse riding and we went for it. It cost 15 € for an hour. I was bit scared at the beginning to be honest. The last time I did that was 4 years ago on my birthday and it is a big animal which you are riding, you do not know what it can do. I was not that confident getting on the horse, one time I was struggling a lot with it and got kinda stuck.. :D This time I managed without complications. I got a small fat brown horse whom wanted to do whatever. It did not want to walk in the line and was bit slow. The horse guy held my horses leach. Do not know was it because he thought I seem so weak or he knew the horse is stubborn. Guess I will never know. We rode bit in the water too, that was really cool and exciting. When we were almost back at the ranch, the horse whisperer gave the horses a command to go uphill and none of us could do anything. We were just stuck on the horses. It happened so fast. I got sunburned that day too, it was very sunny. It went away in couple days.




Lonely buffalo in the back

Bulgaria is behind the mountain range

Then we drove to a monastery which the horse guy recommended. Some old people were waiting and asked do we speak German. Guys spoke to him and the old guy told it opens in 5 minutes. Inside we were looking around and I went alone to explore. One nun came talking to me and telling me to come inside. She also asked me if I am with a group. I told others to come join me. The nun told us to go sit in one room and asked if we want coffee. She then brought Greek coffee, biscuits and small cakes. I was so sure she will ask for money after we have eaten but she did not. Maybe she would have but she did not speak English. The "conversation" which we had was with lots of confused and suspicious faces. Suspicious faces by me because it was bit weird what was going on.


Entrance to the monastery

Inside the church




Main building with the church inside. Behind the building was the cafe where the nun invited me

Recent Posts

See All
Home: Blog2

Subscribe

Home: GetSubscribers_Widget

Contact

Your details were sent successfully!

IMG_20170508_181833.jpg
Home: Contact
Home: ProGallery_Widget
bottom of page